Digital Nasties Productions
Home Movies Blog Shop Inproduction About

Author Message
<  News & Announcements  ~  Forum policy & registration.
jonathon
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:42 am  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

In the course of the past few months there have been multiple registrations in our forum by people (and bots) who wanted to use the URL fields in their signature and profile to improve their web site's search engine ranking.

By placing a link in their profile - and without actually posting anything - search engine bot crawls will hit the URL and link their web site with valuable content from this forum. Since such references help these people sell whatever it is they sell (lollypops, cheap watches, their kids, porn, your soul...), and in turn create a link between our site and theirs (which is bad for us, too!), we wanted to make it again absolutely clear that such behaviour is not acceptable and will result in an instant ban of the registration data and provider IP address that the registrant is using.

But don't worry - this does not apply to any valid registration from "real" people (like you and me, ie. people with an interest in the topics discussed here). If you want to be on the safe side, don't fill in your web site URL before you have made your first posting. That way we will know for sure that you really belong to the good guys Smile In any event we will only act if the web site clearly advertises content that is not relevant.

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:52 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

We've been getting hit pretty hard and fast, the last few days with an auto forum spammer trying to posts links to Footballs, porn & casino sites. Most (but not all) of the spammer usernames have signed up with an email address from cashette.com

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:54 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

If you see a spam message that shouldn't belong on the site, please report the post immediately, to admin (jonathon or webmaster) by PM any moderator who is online will be notified and we can get rid of it asap.

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:55 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

Feel free to use it even if no rule has been broken but there's something that should be called to the attention of me or the other moderators.

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:36 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

I have unbanned hotmail.com, yahoo.com and gmail.com, but i may
at a later date reban all sign up's from free mail address.

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 4:34 am  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

I been hit hard by this user


User: Pit-Stop
IP address info:
IP : 194.84.172.66
Host : ?
Country : Russian Federation

This address is an IPv4 address.
address : 194.84.172.66
It is presented in decimal.

Pwned

Heres his email: service1@dkblog.org

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:02 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

jonathon wrote:
I been hit hard by this user


User: Pit-Stop
IP address info:
IP : 194.84.172.66
Host : ?
Country : Russian Federation

This address is an IPv4 address.
address : 194.84.172.66
It is presented in decimal.

Pwned

Heres his email: service1@dkblog.org


Having been running phpbb boards since 2000, the number of spam over the years keeps getting bigger and bigger in the long run i can see people turning there backs on phpbb and moving to pay forums, untill something is done about the spam level in phpbb it's a waste of time running it!

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
jonathon
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:24 pm  Reply with quote
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts: 233
Location: Sunderland, England

I added both anti-bot sign-up and better CAPTCHA, it's only a matter of time
before the next phpbb update so i will from now on will take down access to the forum when updating and to replace the hacked code with the newer code.

Jonathon

_________________
follow us on http://twitter.com/digitalnasties
become a fan on http://facebook.com/digitalnasties

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
kate
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:03 pm  Reply with quote
Digital Nasties Crew
Digital Nasties Crew


Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 6

that adding up thing had me foxed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
All times are GMT

View next topic
View previous topic
Page 1 of 1
digital nasties Forum Index  ~  News & Announcements

Post new topic   Reply to topic


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Digital Nasties Productions

Powered by phpBB and Ad Infinitum